Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scrappinmom

How to prepare soil for flowerbed? *new to gardening* please help

ScrappinMom
19 years ago

Hi I'm new to gardening--just bought our first house. The previous owner obviously must not have liked to garden because there's nothing... only grass, crabgrass, clover, and a ton of other weeds to contend with.

I'd like to have a little flower garden along my fence in the back yard. The soil is clay I think (not too sure on this). It's kinda sticky when wet. Is there a certain thing I should do to help it? There's tons of gurbs in the dirt (yuck--I hate them). The only thing I can think of is mixing peat moss into the soil...

Any help appreciated!

-lisa

Comments (11)

• ScrappinMom
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Just wanted to thank you for answering my question. We went ahead and got the steer manure from Home Depot (thanks for the suggestion!!!) and some peat moss and rotatilled it in. Geez, a corner of the yard was soooo wet it smelled (yuck!). I think the lack of drainage caused the stench--I'll have to get a little bit of sand for that area--it's the worst part of the flowerbed. I'm not sure why it's worst than the other area but it is.

I watered that whole area a couple of weeks ago and noticed that the spot where I dug a whole the water just kinda sat there...

Anyhoo, thanks again! It seems like it's taking us forever to get anything done with our baby around. Only 1 pair of hands instead of two!

:)

• aka_peggy
    19 years ago

Another thought. Please go over to the "soil, compost & mulch" forum and read the FAQ's. Read about, "creating a new garden bed without tilling" or "interbay mulch." These methods are low impact ways to create rich soil over time without much work. The folks that frequent that forum can be very helpful to you as well.

Watch out tho...they're kinda wierd:) They steal leaves from curbsides and beg coffee grounds at restuarants for making compost, lol!