Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
exmar

Dry Gas vs 10 Ethanol

With the temp at -10 last night I took the precaution of adding dry gas to my vehicles. Here's something I Googled.

"Dave" has the favorite answer it seems.

Keep warm,

Ev

Here is a link that might be useful: Ethanol vs Dry Gas

Comments (16)

• bill_kapaun
    10 years ago

So the ethanol hadn't absorbed water before the temperature dropped?
    It won't absorb water when the temperature rises?
    At the temperatures you mention, air contains near zilch moisture.

This post was edited by bill_kapaun on Tue, Jan 7, 14 at 9:19

• ericwi
    10 years ago

I am a private pilot, and small airplanes are subject to engine failure if there is enough water in the gas, so this issue gets a lot of attention around airports. It is true that there is little or no moisture in the air during the winter, and here in Wisconsin, we have dry skin as you would expect. Water gets into the gas supply during storage, and it may have been there for 6 months or a year, before the gas is dispensed to someone's vehicle. So, it's really a crap-shoot going on here, there is no way to know for certain if the gas is contaminated with water. There are special inline filters that will remove water, but these are not standard practice yet. Since water is heavier than gasoline, airplanes are equipped with special spring loaded fuel valves, located at the bottom of the tank, where a small sample can be drained into a clear plastic cylinder. You can see a line of separation between the water and the gas, when both are present. When water contamination is found, you would keep taking samples until there was no sign of water, and one day I saw a guy taking multiple samples until he had drained about a quart of water from his airplane. That much water would have stopped his engine for certain.

• bill_kapaun
    10 years ago

AV GAS uses Ethanol?
    I doubt it. Doesn't really apply to OPE.