Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gws73

Homelite 955V1 2-Stroke Engine Running Problem

gws73
12 years ago

Hi, I recently acquired an old Homelite 955V1 2-Stroke (2 cycle) chainsaw which does not look like it has been used very much..

It had been unused for many years.

When I got it off the previous owner it was running OK.

I used it continuesly for approx 5 hours with no problems.

I then left it for 2 weeks and when I started it it stopped after about 20 seconds, and then would not run again.

I took the carburettor apart and cleaned it out and the diaphram etc all looked OK.

I replaced the fuel lines with new.

There is a good spark but it still will not run.

If I remove the spark plug and put some petrol in it will run for a few seconds but then stops.

When starting it this way the fuel line filled up with petrol.

If the crankshaht oil seals needed replacing would it still start by putting petrol in the plug hole ?

I have little experience of 2-strke engines so any ideas what could be wrong would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary

Comments (3)

• loger_gw
    12 years ago

Good Info/History! I feel we are still missing something, BUT WHAT?

1. When it starts from a prime does it run with good power, then as out of fuel vs compression or spark (slow vs instant)?
    2. Have you checked your fuel X age/trash/moisture/Stuff and lines/filter X restrictions at connection/compressions/bends?
    3. While in the carb, did you check the Carb's H&L Adjs X clear and small screen X restrictions (w/compressed air or carb cleaner?
    4. Your info sounds like restriction or contamination due to it being sudden vs a bearing IMO (Opinions?)
    5. Do you use stabilizer in your fuel or a dose of carb cleaner on a schedule?
    6. Last, should have been first, what were the over-all conditions from extended sitting (tank/carb/lines)?

Good Fire/Fuel/Compression are the basics to running. Good Luck! loger

• rcmoser
    12 years ago