Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
apacherosepea00

Snow thrower and oil question.

ApacheRosePea00
9 years ago

Okay so I am new to engine care and I overfilled the oil reservoir on the new snow thrower. I think I know what to do but if anyone can help me here, I would appreciate it. What should I do? Also, if anyone cares to share, why is it necessary to disconnect the spark plug when messing with the oil?

Comments (8)

• exmar zone 7, SE Ohio
    9 years ago

IMHO more engines are damaged due to being overfilled than underfilled with oil. Remove the excess oil until it shows full on the dipstick. Either remove drain plug and catch oil in clean receptacle then refill as needed, or use a "push pump" type of gizmo found on hand soap containers. My wife has them at every sink in the house so was easy enough to liberate one.

"We need to be protected," so all small engine, etc. manuals are full of info about disconnecting plug to prevent accidental starting with no oil, or fill port open, etc. etc. ad nauseum.

Good luck,

Ev

• ApacheRosePea00
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I suppose I could steal an old measuring cup from the kitchen, capture the amount I need from the drain and call it a day? Will there be any damage from the overfill? Like oil in parts of the engine where it shouldn't be? Obviously, I didn't run it but the entire thing was tilted when I moved it. The machine is brand new so I hope not.

I read something about oil getting into the combustion chamber being the reason for the disconnect but I don't know. All the over information/warnings in manuals usually leaves me confused. Not more informed.

• bill_kapaun
    9 years ago

Remove the oil by whatever means you'd use to do an oil change.

Don't judge the proper amount by how much you remove.
    Judge by the method you are supposed to use to check the oil level.