Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
firstbassman

Good price for a used Stihl 036 Pro?

firstbassman
15 years ago

Hi,

Newbie here. Seems to be a lot of knowledgeable chainsaw users here.

I'm looking at a well-used Stihl 036 Pro w/ a 24" bar. He wants $350. Is this a good price?

I ran it through a few logs, and it seems to run well, but needs a new sprocket. Also drips oil. I took it to a local shop and they said all saws drip a little.

But, the chain is not getting oil, so it could be a simple fix or could be more involved oiler problem.

It also is missing a mounting bolt and a chain catch plate (or something like that). Also probably needs a tuneup.

I heat my house with wood, cut logs anywhere from 6"-24", once in a while bigger. Mixed fir, oak, maple, madrone. Haven't done any falling yet.

Is $350 a fair price, given the shape it's in? Thanks for any advice on this.

Comments (19)

• canguy
    15 years ago

The guy is dreaming. That is an older model that was replaced by the MS360 then the MS361.$100.00 tops.

• firstbassman
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, canguy.

One acquaintance I asked here in town said $300, $325 tops, if it was in very good shape. Looks like I should pass on this one. I don't have much to spend and I need a saw that just works, otherwise my family gets cold!

I'm thinking maybe a brand new 290 "Farm Boss," but it would be nice to have the capability to run a 24" bar if I needed to do that.

• canguy
    15 years ago

Step up to the MS390 if you want to run that bar.The MS361 is an even better workhorse but somewhat more money.

• masiman
    15 years ago

I'd go with canguys rec on the saw price (I'm not up on 036 prices). But you can probably check out ebay to see see prices for comparison although I would think they might run a little higher on there.