Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
danobatt

Which is the best saw chain brand?

danobatt
12 years ago

Which is the best saw chain brand? Oregon, Stihl, WoodlandPro, etc......

Comments (11)

• rcmoser
    12 years ago

I don't pust brands and have several brands from low end to mid range saws. Basiclly IMO the mid range to upper range saws require less work and maintenance IMO cause they are made with better stronger materials.

I had these two brands mid range saws. Stihl and Husv. they have heavy duty and home owners saws. Basiclly the quality entry levels start out about $450. Husky are comparable to Stihl. Again better saws start around $450 and up. Echo also another highly rated brand. But, I have no experience with them. Boils down to what you want, how it feels, and how much you want to spend on saw.

One thing is common in all saws. you have to do routine maintenance; Keep the bar chain and clutch areas clean, keep the chain tension tight (as recommeded by the manufacture) teeth sharpe, don't dip the bar in the dirt when cutting through limbs or logs on the ground. Don't let it set too long without proper storage or running it enough to cycle the gas out of the carb. If you don't do the minimum requirements eventually any brand of saw will be junk after neglectful use.

• stinkytiger
    12 years ago

Hi,

Most of the pro's use Husqvarna (aka Husky) or Sthil. Note both brands sell lower cost saws for occasional use, and higher priced Pro saws.

Some people mention that Husky saws run at higher revs, but Sthil while slower has more torque.

Best, Mike.

• danobatt
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I run Stihl chain saws. I was asking about the actual chain itself. Which is harder and stays sharper longer?

• ewalk
    12 years ago

I find Oregon the best for the buck and it is available almost anywhere .

• txtom50
    12 years ago