Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigcam420

Homelite XL Chainsaw

bigcam420
14 years ago

Hello everyone! I am from Alberta, Canada and I am new to to the chainsaw fixing world. I have been in the dark and had somebody repair my stuff for too long now. I can fix minor problems, but I'm now having problems with a newly acquired used older Homelite XL Automatic Chainsaw.

I have no markings on the saw except for the one decal that says Homelite XL Automatic. What do I look for in order to determine what year is this from, and the UT#?

How do I determine what parts are accessable for me to get it running?

I've been told that I possibly need a new clutch, but I am in need of the manual and I don't know what the UT# of the saw is, or any part numbers.

I would appreciate some help in some direction on where to start.

I'm sure I don't sound too smart to all of you chainsaw masters out there, but I want to learn what I can, and get started to make this chainsaw work for me.

Thanks again everyone!

BigCam.

Comments (21)

• ewalk
    14 years ago

Hey Dude Welcome to the Site . Lots of High Tech Dudes on board. Review the Saw Threads Homelite XL saws have been discussed at length c/w pictures with numerous problems solved . Check your saw for a Serial and Model Number which should be on a metal Tag affixed to the Engine Casing . If not at least the Colour would assist , since this narrows down the vintage some what. I know others on the site will forward Operating Manual info once they see your request .
    Great Site with a lot of Info Cam .

• bigcam420
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the welcome, ewalk. I have been reading everything I can on the XL and have found A LOT of really good info here.
    It's weird, I seem to suddenly have OCD about my newly acquired Homelite. I love a challenge and I feel great confidence knowing this site will be able to help.