Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hobbyfarmer_gw

Need to clear large amount of branches

hobbyfarmer
17 years ago

I'm looking for the most practical way to get rid of a huge amount of dead brush. My husband and I have just moved to a neglected four-acre farm. The previous residents have left huge piles of dead trees and branches in the corrals. In addition, there is a large amount of overgrown brush around the house and sheds, creating a fire hazard. By clearing it away, I'm adding to this enormous amount of wood.

I've checked into renting a truck and taking this wood to the dump. It would take several trips, be very expensive (several hundred dollars), and require a lot of work.

I'd prefer to chop up these branches and make mulch for use in our garden, compost pile, and chicken coop. I'd hate to buy a wood chipper, as they're expensive and I don't think I'll need one in the future, after this brush is gone. The branches I have range from 1" to 4" in diameter. I'm new to this - are there services that would convert this to mulch for me? Would it be better to rent a wood chipper and have it delivered?

In short, is there any somewhat inexpensive way (under $200) to get rid of several large piles of dead branches? I have about four 10 foot by 8 foot piles. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• castoff
    17 years ago

If you are in a rural area, contact the local fire department. Ask them if it would be permissable to just burn all of it. Pick a suitable spot as far away from any buildings and burn one pile of it at a time. Yes, you will have to haul it to that spot but no matter which method you go with, hauling is needed.

If the answer from the fire department is no, then go to a rental yard and rent a chipper. If you are not experienced with one of these, then stay away from the drum-style. Get the disc chipper instead. The drum-style chippers are not for the faint of heart.