Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladybug_thumper

Mongomary Ward tiller

ladybug_thumper
18 years ago

Hello I am new at this but I hope someone can help me out.We have a Montgomery Ward Tiller, By briggs and stratton And we do not know what year it is. The Model number is GIL 1575A and the Serial # is 26X74488 We would like to found parts and Manuel for this tiller.We have cleaned the carbon off of it and little things like that. We finially got it running but it will not stay running unless we have the choke on and the filter off. Does any one have any suggestions, or may be able to help we would really be happy to hear from you before planting garden time gets around. thank you so much hope to hear from you..

Comments (32)

• snip0721
    18 years ago

ladybug, sounds like the main jet(in the carburator) is dirty, or partually plugged (not enough fuel....lean). jet has a very small hole in the center of it. clean the hole with a fine wire or compressed air. you might take the b&s model# and serial#, and look for a exploded view of the carb to help you out. most models are in the bottom of the float bowl. some have access from the side. hope this helps.

• javert
    18 years ago

Ladybug, your Montgomery Wards tiller was manufactured by Gilson, which is now defunct. Do a Google search on Gilson tiller and you'll come up with access to quite a bit of information. I did it just as a test, and saw quite a few sites offering parts, manuals, etc. Good luck.

• psmsmallengines
    18 years ago

There is a site on the web ran by a guy out of Wells Maine, He is a gilson collector and has been a help to me a few times. Any search engine will have the site. Best of luck, Patrick

• Greg Goyeneche
    18 years ago

Can't do anything with the Wards numbers. However with Briggs numbers should be able to explain carb cleaning steps.

If 130000 is B&S 5hp and if 170000 is B&S 7hp or 8hp.

Will need full Model and Type number.

• flyguy
    17 years ago