Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sparkleclown

Mantis tiller questions

sparkleclown
14 years ago

I am considering a Mantis tiller. I have a few questions.

1. has anyone used one to start a new bed, does it cut through the grass?

2. If you have an electric one does it seem to have enought power to get the job done?

3. Has anyone bought a factory reconditioned one? Any problems?

4. Has anyone bought one online, for example from Ebay? Any Problems?

Thanks for you help.

Katie

Comments (7)

• canguy
    14 years ago

It is an impressive machine but has it's limitations. It is simply too light to bust sod, rent a bigger unit for that or hire out the job. The little guy is great for turning mulch in and preparing the deed bed. I have no experience with the electric, they are not sold in Canada.
    I sold Mantis and had an interesting experience with one customer. He had ordered one on line, not realizing brick and mortar dealers existed. Received all the attachments but no tiller. After waiting several months, he found us and purchased one. He finally received the first one at Christmas, when he refused the shipment Mantis would not take it back and credit his card. So much for the one year money back guarantee.

• yungman
    14 years ago

It is very useful for cultivating, dethatching for lawn. I have the Mantis with 25cc engine. I trim the edge of the lawn with it and no problem. I never try to break up the lawn with it yet. If you take your time, it will dig. If you worry about the power Mantis just come out one with 31cc Honda engine that is 30lbs (10 lbs heavier) which should improve on digging. But I think the small one would be just fine. After the first time, you would not need the kind of power anymore. The smaller one is lighter to transport around. I love my Mantis. Buy the dethatcher tine for your lawn, it work really great.