Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ksnh

Generac cord question: 240v twistloc to (2) 120v duplex outlets

ksnh
14 years ago

Anyone ever hack off the two duplex outlets?

I am thinking that the 30 amp cord, with the two duplex outlets removed, and a female 30 amp twistloc added, would make a legit generator-to-house supply cord. The main cord is marked "STW 4/C 10AWG."

I figure that this means that the main wiring is 10/4 to the base of the duplex cluster and then split off to each outlet. If so, the 10/4 wiring could be accessed just before being tapped off to the individual duplexes, and connected to the new 240v female connector to restore full 30 amp capacity.

Has anyone ever done this, and can say for sure how the cord is internally wired?

Comments (9)

• smokebuzz
    14 years ago

I'm an Electrician, and you TOTALLY lost me.
    If you are wanting to make 2 120 volt circuits out of 1 240/120 circuit, have you thought about branch curcuit overcurrent protection? at 30 amp for each line at 120 volt?,shared nuetral on flexable cord?

• smokebuzz
    14 years ago

OK, after rereading, after sleep, Yes that should be fine.
    I origanally thought you was going to add 2 recepticles to the end of a cord.

• ksnh
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the reply. The last sentence in my original post ("Has anyone ever done this, and can say for sure how the cord is internally wired?") is my main question.

I know how to make a conventional generator-to-house supply cable; what I don't know is if the Generac cable uses 10/4 right up to the duplex cluster. If that is the case, then to cut off the duplex cluster would leave a male Twistloc to bare 10/4 cable, which would in turn need only a female Twistloc to make a complete supply cable.

• kompressor
    14 years ago

The Generac cable would have to be 10/4 all the way to the "duplex cluster" or there would not be two independant 120 volt circuits available at the duplex cluster.