Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
samsthumb

Help me buy a chipper/shredder

samsthumb
15 years ago

My husband says I can have a new chipper/shredder. Yeah!! I have been using a Troybuilt one for six years that has to be pulled and though I love the consistency of the shredded stuff it is too small and I spend the day working up a medium pile of roses canes and dead leaves...then I have to pull it back up the hill to the shed. Please help me pick a new one. Here is what I need: It must be able to hook up to my riding lawnmower...easy to start....large enough capacity that I still have time to plant something...would love the shreds to shoot into a wagon instead of having to rake it up or put on a plastic sheet...small shreds so that they decay fast in the compost bin. Thanks a bunch

Comments (8)

• den69rs96
    15 years ago

you can start here with the DR series

http://www.drpower.com/Wood-Chippers_Engined_Specifications.aspx

or

http://www.mackissic.com/Products.html

I have the Mackissic 12PT. It will handle just about everything for the homeowner. Any branches over 3.5 inches become firewood. Mackissic makes are great machine.

• Ratherbgardening
    15 years ago

I got a Mackissic last year and I'm very happy with it. It's the same as the one den69rs96 has, but an older model with less power I believe. I haven't used it for 5 months or so, so I don't recall the exact model number. My only complaint about it is the narrow wheel base. It has come close to tipping over on our mole infested ground when we turn it.

It has different sized screens to control the size of the chips.

I was lucky and got mine off Craigs list, for about 1/2 the cost of a new one. It hadn't been used much and was in perfect condition.

Good luck!

• zen_man
    15 years ago

ratherbgardening,

"My only complaint about it is the narrow wheel base."