Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greendreamhome

Total newbie to trimmers/edgers is very confused

greendreamhome
9 years ago

I've never used a trimmer or edger. I need an electric cordless trimmer and/or edger, and I can't seem to find any information about what some of the parts are and how they're used.

What's the difference between a "bump feed" and a "continuous feed"?

Does anyone make a "plug and play" model, or am I looking at assembling something that I've never used and don't know how it's supposed to work? (As you know, assembly instructions are usually awful and you usually have to rely on experience to figure out how the product is actually supposed to go together.)

As far as I can tell, stringless trimmers are all corded. Is that really the case?

This post was edited by GreenDreamhome on Tue, May 13, 14 at 1:05

Comments (4)

• loger_gw
    9 years ago

Visit a local Small Lawn Equipment Dealer, Local Home Depot/Lowes or a good neighbor for some live Demos and Answers. It All can be fairly simple if you are ready for the challenge.

Good Luck!

• krnuttle
    9 years ago

Just a comment make sure your new trimmer is big enough for the job. Electric trimmer are good for small yards where you can reach every thing with 100' of drop cord, or the life of the battery (If battery powered) If it is too big or too small for the job you will not be happy.

If your yard is larger you may wish to considered a gas powered trimmer.

Most trimmer I have seen come reassembled so that should not be a problem.

Make sure you use a support system, belt, over the shoulder strap, etc. to put the weight of the trimmer on your body not your arms.

It is fun so go have a good time.

• exmar zone 7, SE Ohio
    9 years ago