Return to the Tool Shed Forum

o
Troy-Bilt Horse Tiller assistance

Posted by Dave_Danger West Central Ga (My Page) on
Wed, May 18, 05 at 13:14

Hello All, a new member here! Hope to absorb lots of info from you all :)
Several years ago, I inherited a Troy-Bilt Tiller from my Dad... a "Horse" model I believe. He purchased it along about the mid-70's as I remember. It's a recoil start, Tecumseh engine... approximately 8 to 10 HP. It has always started and run well, so I have had no need to ever chase parts for it. Suddenly however, it's leaking fuel from the carb, running badly and is needing some major work. I'm an aircraft mechanic and am capable of doing the necessary wrenchwork, whatever it comes to. I suspect I'll need to purchase a carb overhaul kit at the very least. I can't find however a single dataplate on this unit anywhere that identifies it exactly! Is there anyone that can give me some assistance on determining exactly what I have as far as year model, model #, etc. ??
I've looked and can't find any manuals that I may have had over the years. Nothing :(
Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Troy-Bilt Horse Tiller assistance

I have a Troy_Bilt Horse from the early 80s with a Tecumseh 6HP engine. It had the characters HH60 stamped into the sheet metal cover. I'm guessing an 8 HP would have the characters HH80 stamped in. I don't think they put 10 HP engines on them back then.

o

I don't remember anything higher than 8 HP back then. Most likely it has a Tecumseh or Lawson carburetor and you probably need the float bowl o ring and maybe a bowl nut gasket. Any dealer should have them.

o