Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dave_danger

Troy-Bilt Horse Tiller assistance

dave_danger
18 years ago

Hello All, a new member here! Hope to absorb lots of info from you all :)

Several years ago, I inherited a Troy-Bilt Tiller from my Dad... a "Horse" model I believe. He purchased it along about the mid-70's as I remember. It's a recoil start, Tecumseh engine... approximately 8 to 10 HP. It has always started and run well, so I have had no need to ever chase parts for it. Suddenly however, it's leaking fuel from the carb, running badly and is needing some major work. I'm an aircraft mechanic and am capable of doing the necessary wrenchwork, whatever it comes to. I suspect I'll need to purchase a carb overhaul kit at the very least. I can't find however a single dataplate on this unit anywhere that identifies it exactly! Is there anyone that can give me some assistance on determining exactly what I have as far as year model, model #, etc. ??

I've looked and can't find any manuals that I may have had over the years. Nothing :(

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Comments (164)

• rej2
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I also have heard the flywheel is not available new. Have seen several listed on e-bay though. REJ2.

• larryo_2007
    16 years ago

I own a TroyBilt tiller 7hp Kohler probably made in the 80"s. What would be a reasonable price to ask for it? It runs great and I have never had any problems since it was given to me by my father in the early 90's. thanks.

• rakuch
    16 years ago

Fish (or others),

I also am looking for help with an old Walbro carburetor: WHL 07 2109. The Walbro web site does not list it and also states that it does not support model WHL 08. The carb is on a Kohler K161 (7 hp), which is on my old Horse. Symptom: gas leaking from the air filter.

I just finished tilling 12 yards of mulch into the clay "soil" in my back yard, so I guess the Horse deserves a rest and some TLC.