Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mitzysman

Stihl FS 55R

mitzysman
13 years ago

Hi Guys, I'm just a homeower and got the FS-55r from my local dealer. Had my previous trimmer which was a homelite St-175 for over 20 years (back when they made them decent)

Anyhow, I've been using the FS55 for a few weeks - cuts nice but seems to be a little heavy to me. I'm new to strait shaft and I guess I'm adjusting. I was looking at the Husqvarna 223L at Lowes and that thing seems a lot easier to handle.

Bought Stihl b/c of the name - it does run great, starts easy... just not loving the weight and balance. Is it worth trading up - I guess I didn't consider Husqvarna a good name until I did some checking. But it sure is a lot lighter.

Comments (10)

• bill7
    13 years ago

Hi,

I have a Stihl FS45 that I have had for about 5 years. I bought it when I lived in town. I now live in the country, and I have beat the thing for almost 3 years. Thistle, tall grass, even tried cattails. If I trim around everything in one shot, it takes me 45-60 minutes (plus all the extra stuff I use it for). It is a bit small (I should get a brush mower), but it has held up. I did buy a cutting head for the thing. Not saying anything about other brands, but I know I like mine. When I do kill this thing, I will buy another one.

On the weight: Do they have a harness for that model? I think mine came with one, but I do not use it.

Bill

• yungman
    13 years ago

That is the problem. A lot of people keep saying Stihl is better maybe because of marketing. Stihl have very aggressive marketing. I am not saying they are bad, but it is highly questionalbe that they are much better if even. There had been so many complains about even the Stihl commercial with their 4Mix engines dropping valves. They supposed to have fixed the problem already. But as you see, they are far from perfect.