Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njtrout

Won't start Stihl MS-250

njtrout
17 years ago

I inherited a almost new Stihl MS-250 chainsaw. It was new in Winter/Spring 2004. I am sure it was only used a couple of times. It sat in a garage with fuel in it since that time. I tried to start it with the existing fuel. It started once for a few minutes. Great I thought, mixed up fresh fuel and added it to the tank. Since then I cannot get it to start. Before I bring it to a dealer for service is there anything else I can try on my own? New spark plug? Air filter is clean. Topped off the chain oil. The chain does move properly and feels tensioned well. I'm new to chainsaws as well and want to keep things safe. I do apply the chain break when starting.

Thanks in advance.

NJTrout

Comments (21)

• canguy
    17 years ago

Remove the air filter and give it a small spritz of gas in the carb throat. DONT use starting fluid. If it fires and quits it is not getting fuel and needs a good servicing. Two year old fuel is hard on fuel lines and carb diaphragms.

• njtrout
    Original Author
    17 years ago

1. Is the tank full of fresh fuel? Ans. It started once with old fuel. I added fresh mix on top of that and since have not been able to start it.

Is the air cleaner element clean? Ans. Yes
    Is the spark plug lead attached to the plug? Ans. Yes
    Are you following the correct starting procedure? Ans. Yes

The rest of the test will have to wait for the weekend.

2. If the items in #1 check out then let's take it to the next step. Pull the spark plug, connect the lead, and ground the base. Give the starter a strong yank. Is the plug arching? (you can also use a spark tester or use the screwdriver trick). If there's no sign of a spark you could have a bad ignition module or high tension wire.