Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeep461

Octane and 2 cycle oil

jeep461
13 years ago

Ok, most 2 cycle chain saws and trimmers are sawing it is ok to use their premium oil at 50:1 and use premium gasoline in 2 cycle engines even though they originally stated a mixture of 32:1.

What do you think? Keep the ones that originally stated 32:1 at that ratio and the newer ones at 50:1 ? Any insights would be appreciated as I now have a mixture of machines.

Jim

Comments (12)

• yungman
    13 years ago

I would use at least 89 octane. I myself use 91. I have no experience with older equipments that originally called for 32:1. I did read this question many times before and from responses of many people 50:1 with good quality modern oil is plenty good.

That said, as for me......just me now!! If I use normal good oil like Echo Power Blend type, I would mix at 40:1 but no more. There are test that any more oil without adjusting the carb will cause temperature to rise. At 32:1, temp rise is about 10 to 15 degrees C. That is not good. To avoid this, I am using Amsoil that is design for 100:1 and I use at about 55:1 to 60:1 to give some margin but still keep the ratio close to 50:1.

Now that's just me, I am not advicing anyone on this. Just remember do not go more than 40:1.

• ewalk
    13 years ago

Jim , I would agree that with newer Oil Technology 40-1 is more than sufficient for your needs. Stil Oil is one of the leading Saw Brands on the Market. I have used Amsoil in my older saws at 70-1 with no Problems of course both have Chrome Bores and Ball or Torrington Class Bearings . The Older Saws did run 32 and even 16-1 Ratios back in the Day and required regular decarbonizing of Rings and Heads after Hourly Levels. Normally I never recommend less than a 50-1 Ratio for any 2-Stroke Application , but as said 40-1 in your Texas Heat would be a sound precaution . Lets us know how the Echo and Stihl Units serve you after your 1st season !

• loger_gw
    13 years ago