Return to the Tool Shed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vintage gardening device, please help ID

Posted by Dmitriy none (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 9, 13 at 13:55

Looks like a seeder / cultivator to me, want to make sure. Please tell me what it is.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vintage gardening device, please help ID

Two wheel dolly with the wooden curved handles. The other one needs a better picture to tell what it is. Manual cultivators had only one wheel.

o

Do you mean there are two things? So, the dolly sits on top of the other device, now I see.

Have other photos but the same view point. Here is a larger fragment, maybe it'll help. Thank you.

o

Its yard art there forum here for Yard art

o

I am not an expert in these matters but it looks like some one made the tool out of an old Hand truck. I was looking at an old Hand truck the other day in an old company that is now a museum.

It looks like the big wheel contraption is an adaptation so the hand truck could be pulled

How ever that is just a guess.

o

Thank you all, and thank you for pointing that there are two things.

Here is a link that might be useful: Antique Wooden Dolly

o

Dmitriy, I think you're "funning" us. "Do you mean there are two things?" Well, uh ... did you try lifting up the two curved wooden handles of the dolly?

The only place the two items could be joined together is where the metal cross brace of the dolly lays across the two large metal wheels of the other contraption. If those were welded or bolted together (which they are not), the wheels could not turn.

I am not at all sure what the second item is, but yes, there are two things there, and one is definitely an old dolly.

o

Hi Javert,

I really didn't know what it was. I didn't inspected it, didn't even come close, just took a few tens of photographs of that yard, among which was this device(s) and I needed to describe the image for my stock collection.