Return to the Tool Shed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Stihl MS 361 CQ

Posted by newjerseybt 5b PA (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 11, 06 at 9:14

Stihl states that the CQ has the same features as the MS 361, but with a secondary chain braking system (Q). This saw also features the ElastoStart shock-absorbing starter handle.

I thought the MS 361 already has a vibration absorbing system and a brake. Are these additional features overkill and a waste of money? I am new to chain saws so maybe I missed something.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Stihl MS 361 CQ

• Posted by canguy British Columbia (My Page) on
    Mon, Sep 11, 06 at 11:00

IMHO, they are overkill. You can add the elasto start handle to your saw if you wish. The secondary brake and quick chain adjust are aimed at the lazy occasional user who is more of a hazard to himself than the tree. However, how many of those would pony up for a 361 over the 180? Just my .02CDN worth.

o

I have the "plain" MS361. I really like it and have used it a lot. It has a surprisingly good vibration absorbing system and I don't even wear gloves when using it. It has the usual manual chain brake control, which I apply as soon as I finish a cut before I change my footing for the next cut.

I also start the saw with the brake on and, to save wear on the clutch, release it quickly after it starts. I could start the saw with the brake off, but it's not a good idea. I don't think the Q feature gives you the opportunity to start the saw with the brake off.

The secondary chain brake engager (the Q feature) on the CQ would engage the chain brake if you accidentally dropped the saw (I haven't done that yet, but some people have dropped saws) or just lost your grip, because it engages the brake when you stop squeezing the throttle trigger bar.