Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
baymee

Using safety goggles, not safety glasses, when grinding

baymee
13 years ago

Well, I've been doing this for 35 years now and it finally caught up with me.

I was using a cutting wheel on a surface grinder to cut of pillow block bearing off a shaft. I turned the grinder to make a cut and iron sparks bounced off a nearby mounting and right under my safety glasses.

It's nothing new for me; it's happened many times. This time a piece went into the second layer of my cornea and stuck. I waited to go to the doctor figuring it would go away. My eyesight went from excellent to cloudy and I reported into the ER two days later. It had to be drilled out and will leave a scar, but not in my line of sight. It's been almost a week and I still can't see clearly, but it's clearing up.

I bought a pair of goggles for unpredictable grinding work. I realize now that I'd rather loose a foot than my eye.

Comments (13)

• lbpod
    13 years ago

I agree that goggles are much better than safety glasses,
    but I have never found a pair that doesn't fog up on me.
    So, I went to a welding supply place and bought a clear,
    full face shield, which works great and I believe is even
    better than the goggles in that it protects the entire
    face from something as bad as a cut-off wheel breaking
    apart and sending pieces in all directions, at speeds
    fast enough to penetrate the human skull.

• canguy
    13 years ago

I am not a fan of face shields. I find they tend to fog up and debris has a way of sneaking under them although I was darn grateful for one when a grinding disc exploded. My own fault, I was using it as a cut off.

• rcmoser
    13 years ago