Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gondorff

Repair or replace chain saw

Gondorff
11 years ago

Husqvarna 40 (1985-09) Chainsaw

Is it worth getting this chainsaw fixed? I got this chainsaw from my son in law. I have no idea of it's history or does my son in law. So I do not know if it was heavy used or lightly used.

I was able to use the chainsaw once to cut down a tree but then a problem developed.

When I got the chainsaw I cleaned it up and put in new gas/oil filled up the chain lube tank and started up. It started fairly easily. However after cutting a tree down and the chainsaw was idling, I hear a change in the pitch of the rpm's. When I went rev it up it would not rev it up it would spit and stutter, idle was the only thing it would do smoothly.

I am not good at fixing gas powered equipment my past attempts have been less the stellar. So I would be inclined to take it into a shop for repair.

The question is it worth it? I know at one time Husqvarna was consider a very good chainsaw. I looked up the Carburetor and it was $50. I doubt very much if I could it repaired for under a $100. For a mere $80 more I can get a new one from Home Depot.

Anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do?

Comments (3)

• chas045
    11 years ago

I am not the best person to answer this since I was recently getting advise here and accidently disconnected something during my repair just like I suspect you are afraid that you might do too.

However, while I am not familiar with your saw, I may as well start this thread off by pointing out that older saws were usually designed to be respectable tools rather than disposable items. Often, long stored small engines fail to run so you are already ahead in the game. While the more experienced here may suggest something else, I would expect that a piece of crud just jammed up one of your carburetor's main orifices, and there aren't many in a small carb.