Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pyratejim

Whats a good/step up, chainsaw?

pyratejim
17 years ago

I currenlty have a PoulanPro sm4018. 40cc with an 18" bar and have no idea what the sm stands for, or for that matter what the difference is between a Poulan Pro and and Poulan, other than it seems the choices with the Pro are slimer. Anyway, it eats chains somewhat regularly and leaks chain oil something fierce. I've also noticed that the "teeth" on the only chain that seems to fit this model are slightly smaller than other 18" chains. For small projects around the house and for a few small trees it is great but I now find the need to move up a notch or two.

What would be a good chainsaw as an upgrade? I would like to stay with the 18" bar as that would serve 95% of my needs. I am new to chainsaws and the variety of brands and their little differences can be somewhat overwhelming. I am hoping to make the upgrade in the next couple of days.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Comments (7)

• jmancan
    17 years ago

The best brand chainsaw you can buy is a Stihl. Most professional use them but they also make lighter duty models (non-contractor grade) suited for homeowners as well (like me). I have one and love it. Very well made machine. Consumer reports also rates them at the top. I use it to cut down trees around my house for firewood.