Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tommy_oh

Bent Bar on my Chainsaw?

tommy_oh
16 years ago

Dear friends - I am the proud owner of an Echo 440. As I started my yearly clean-up this past weekend, I noticed that the saw goes in straight but seems to be angling after a couple inches. It is happening cut after cut. My eyesight tells me that the bar is straight and the chain seems to be the right tension.

Is this a symptom of a bent bar? Is it fixable? I am not a professional - can it be user error?

I also noticed (last evening) some very faint sparks coming off the bar/chain. I don't usually cut in the twilight so I never noticed these before. Normal?

Any comments are appreciated.

Comments (9)

• canguy
    16 years ago

Forcing a dull chain into the cut will cause it to rock in the bar. Do the corners of the cutters have a shiny area that tapers back to a point? That indicates wear and a dull chain. Are the cutters all close to the same length? Have a look at the bar groove, it should be the same width over the whole length. If the area where you do the most cutting is worn, turn the bar over.

• nevada_walrus
    16 years ago

Sparks? Yes, normal. You have netal dragging on metal, the bar oil is not enough to stop all sparking nor is is needed.

To add to Canguys comment, we see this complaint fairly often with occasional users who aren't fully aware of the things that effect the cut. While looking at your cutter teeth as Canguy said, look for any nicks on the teeth. Its probable that at some point the teeth facing one direction got into a nail, the dirt or something harder then just plain wood that nicked or dulled the teeth on one side. This compromised side will not cut as well as the sharper side and cause the bar to pull to the dull side.

• tommy_oh
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Canguy and Walrus -