Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jptra

Mantis tiller- carb won't prime

jptra
9 years ago

Hi,

I have a Mantis tiller with a Zama C1U-K54 carb. The tiller runs great once started, and will run for as long as needed at both idle and high speed. However, the primer bulb does not pull fuel from the tank or fill up the primer bulb when depressed.

I have replaced the primer bulb, and checked the fuel lines, and there appear to be no holes or leaks there. I believe this may be the tell- when I hold my finger over the end of the purge fuel line that normally expels the fuel from the primer bulb into the fuel tank, the primer bulb will then fill up. I'm not a carb expert at all, but I'm guessing this means that maybe the outlet check valve is bad, and is preventing the vacuum necessary to draw fuel from the tank through the inlet check valve? When I put my finger over the hose end, I'm acting as a manual check valve?

Also, the purge line is very short, and just barely protrudes through the fuel line grommet of the tank, and into the tank. Therefore, it normally just empties out into air, and is not submerged in fuel. I did not modify this, so I'm guessing this is normal and should not normally cause a problem?

Am I correct in my diagnosis, and if so, can this check valve be bought separately, or is it necessary to buy an entire new primer base?

Thanks for any help and insight anyone can offer, and if anyone has a good, cheap source for the necessary parts to repair, it would also be much appreciated!

Comments (10)

• loger_gw
    9 years ago

Please post a pic of your bulb assembly. The one that IâÂÂll attach might have the black rubber part sold separate. Know itâÂÂs not a reed or flapper on the gasket that is the problem that might only come in a carb kit.

Some cheaper primers appear self contained in a plastic housing that snap onto the housing vs the carb.

IâÂÂll attach links to videos that could help in testing Etc.. I hope this helps.