Return to the Tool Shed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Snow Blower Tire Diameter for Incline

Posted by edge 6a (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 12, 12 at 16:11

I am looking at two stage snow blowers and I have a driveway with a 12 degree incline , which breaks to level halfway up. Sometimes we get wet heavy snow. How much of an difference in traction would I see on snow blowers with a 13 in vs 15 in diameter tire. I realized that tire width lugs, and compound etc may make a difference in traction. But will the 15 inch tire be much better in traction than a 13 given they were about the same quality and design?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Snow Blower Tire Diameter for Incline

• Posted by mla2ofus z4b Caribou Co. Id (My Page) on
    Fri, Oct 12, 12 at 22:50

I think the 15's will do better w/ your slope. I'll also advise using chains.
Mike

o

Sure more tire width helps, but a heavy wet snow is gonna push back just the same. I would look to oversize the unit, for your length of driveway.

My drive is 500 feet, some incline, but not 12 degrees. Have a 1333 Yardman, 6 forwards, 2 reverses. I use them all. Some people say Yardman is cheapo. Yeah, but I don't beat it like a rug. Bought this one in 2001. Works great. Also, NEVER stop your snowblower with an auger full of wet snow. Sure to bust the belt. Been there, done that.

o

• Posted by exmar 6 SE Ohio (My Page) on
    Fri, Oct 26, 12 at 14:44

Definitely get tire chains, you can google them and order online a lot cheaper than buyng from the dealer. Loading the tires wouldn't make a lot of difference as all your weight is already sitting on the axle IMHO. Also, going downhill take a "full bite" and on the return trip take a "lesser bite" depending on conditiions.

I don't think tire diameter really works into it unless it means a bigger machine, width=traction particuarly with chains.