Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roland_gw

Echo chainsaws

roland
17 years ago

I was at Home Depot today and two Echo chainsaws that I checked out were the CS-305 and CS-346. I need a chainsaw in this size and power range for light to medium cutting. I have never owned a Echo before. Can nayone offer an comments/suggestions?

Comments (59)

• echoman
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

lynxville, the 346 can be bought for about $250-$270 at most dealers. Internet/Ebay purchases have them averaging $175-$200. The main reason I replaced my older saws with Echo is 1 brand reputation and servicing dealers in my area(if need be,quick parts), 2 the size and profile is smaller and lighter than compared to Stihl and Husky which are also good products. I'm not a pro or make a living with my tools, just like dependable tools that lasts. I also enjoy keeping my equipment running and looking like new! Been a hobby for many years.

• computeruser
    17 years ago

The little Echos are great saws in their intended role. If you are looking for one and don't plan to buy from a saw dealer, save yourself some money and buy it off eBay. The CS346 goes for $160-180 NIB. Since you won't be able to get service or parts from HomeDepot anyway, there's no disadvantage in buying online.

Despite the remarks of another member, you CAN have too much saw. Different saws exist for different purposes. If your purposes will be properly served by a small Echo, then you need a small Echo. If you need a pro-grade 50cc-class saw, then buy a Husqvarna 346 or 353, Stihl 260Pro, or Dolmar 5100s, because the little Echo would not be a good stand-in for a 50cc saw. It's all about having the right tool for the job.

If you do buy the Echo, here are a couple tips -