Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
royex

Briggs & Stratton 12.5 hp starter gear

royex
9 years ago

Hello Everyone - Happy New Year!

I am a newbie to this group.

I am trying to solve a issue with my simplicity 5212.5 tractor. Last July my starter gear broke so I replaced the entire starter (since it was 25 years old). It ran fine till November. Since then, I have gone thru 4 starter gears (one with the original starter).

Here is what happens - as I crank the engine the starter gear engages the ring gear and the engine goes to start but stops as the starter gear gets wedged into the ring gear and it breaks. I measured the two starters and they look the same height. The teeth on the ring gear look ok but the top of the ring gear is getting beat up from the overdriven starter gear. (see attached picture).

Any suggestions on what i should look at.

Thanks

Chalrie

Comments (10)

• tomplum
    9 years ago

I agree, it looks as through the gear is coming up too high. We need numbers. Model, type and all part numbers used to start. Looks to be an OPTW.

• royex
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Engine: 404707 0122 01 87040812

Starter part # is 394808 which I replaced with aftermarket part # SBS0008

OPTW - ? not sure what this means

Thanks

• tomplum
    9 years ago