Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ollieduke

Motor hard to start when hot.

ollieduke
14 years ago

Motor is a 18 hp duel Briggs. As long as its running,there is no trouble.(runs good for 3 hours cutting grass,but if you stop it,you have to wait at least 30 minutes before it will start and once it starts it runs good. (its been doing this for 1 year).Since it has no fire when it wont start, naturally the first thing I did was replace the dual coil,but that didn't fix it as it acted the same when hot. While checking for fire,I disconnected one plug wire and accidentally grounded it and it started with only one plug connected,I cut off the engine to replace the loose plug wire and then it wouldn't start as it had no fire. After fiddling with it,(I know this sounds far fetched to you as it did to me,as I was a mechanic years back),but if I ground one of the plugs while it is hot,it will start every time. I tried grounding the motor to frame,in case there was a bad ground. and that did not help starting it. Does anyone have an idea whats causing this problem?

t

Comments (24)

• darg
    14 years ago

The engine might not be grounded at times from the battery due to a bad ground.

• tomplum
    14 years ago

Assuming we're talking about an op twin here. So somehow what is happening is the cd fires the coil when the plug is grounded. Not Mr Wizard here, but the bases I would cover would be: Clean the mount where the coil bolts down. Pull off tins that go around the head to ensure the cooling fins are open. Be darn sure that the ground wire isn't chafing where it enters the shroud. Do this to start. Did you buy an Briggs coil and when?

• ollieduke
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Darg, have tried an extra ground when hot,but didn't help,although it does sound like a ground problem.