Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jlid_gw

Does a product like this exist?

jlid
10 years ago

This is my first time posting on this forum. We just recently built our home and this forum was so helpful!

Now that we're in, and it's winter, we're realizing we have some challenges with the long driveway/lane to get to our house.

I'm looking for a piece of equipment to help, but I'm not sure it exists, and cost would be an issue. I'd consider going up to $5,000, but that would be the maximum.

A brief snapshot of our property: We live down a flat, curvy lane of approximately 550 feet. We live in Utah, so we get a lot of snow (last storm dumped about 14"). We have 2.5 acres and there is no grass, so come springtime, we're going to have some work to do. We're thinking 3/4 acre in grass and the rest is to be determined.

The builder brought in a lot of gravel for the road (part of the original deal). However, it's now pretty much been pushed into the ground and we have a very muddy mess. The thought of taking the garbage can to the main road scares me. Right now, I'm toting garbage in my vehicle to a neighbor's free can.

Is there a piece of equipment out there that would:
- Mow a large lawn
- Plow a long driveway
- Have the ability to hold a garbage can in the back of it for transportation to the main road.
- Be fairly simple to use

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

P.S. If anyone wants to add their input on our driveway issue, I'd love that too. Do you think one more layer of gravel will hold us for at least a few years? Another layer will cost about $2,000, and we (of course) over spent on the house, so I'm not looking forward to it. But... unless we're willing to hunker down for the winter, it may be a necessity. :-)

Comments (9)

• larso1
    10 years ago