Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gramac125

Dead Intek 18.5HP - Options

gramac125
14 years ago

My B&S Intek 18.5hp single cylinder (31P777-0299E1) decided to let the sunshine into the crankcase thanks to a broken rod - I bought it second hand with low hours so suspect it may have had low oil or something previously but it is well and truly dead now. I'm new to all this so would appreciate any and all suggestions - am trying to keep costs down. To complicate matters I live in Australia so parts are more expensive than in the US - be good to find a supplier there that would ship to here. Anyway my question(s) are 1. Should I replace with the current model of the same engine (which is now 17.5hp apparently) 2. Should I consider a twin cylinder - an Australian supplier is selling 18hp Vanguard twins - is this an easy swap? 3. HP - how much is enough - will I notice a big difference if say I went to a 15.5HP Intek - only mowing a bit over an acre. 4. Rebuild with a short block (is this a cost effective solution by the time you factor in gaskets etc. Appreciate any suggestions.

Comments (6)

• rustyj14
    14 years ago

Well, if everything else is ok, i would go the new short-block route. And, after you get it all back together, don't forget to put oil in the engine, if it isn't in it, already! No use replacing good parts, if they are ok.
    Granted, a complete new engine is easier to do, but then, you'll have a bunch of spare parts laying around, which isn't bad, but you may never need them. Not to mention the extra cost! And, do install a fuel shut-off valve, in the fuel intake line from the tank! And, use it faithfully! Saves BIG BUCKS later on!

• walt2002
    14 years ago

"And, do install a fuel shut-off valve, in the fuel intake line from the tank! And, use it faithfully! Saves BIG BUCKS later on!"

This is what most often happens to these engines, the oil becomes contaminated by gas leaking past carb float needle, oil isn't checked before using and, wham.