Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tractorstudent

John Deere, Toro, Husqvarna, or Craftsman?

TractorStudent
10 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a student in NYC and am attempting to learn about and do a report on riding lawn mowers. I GREATLY appreciate any feedback you can give me from your own personal experiences and opinions on these brands.

John Deere was one of the Top 100 Brands of 2013. Why?

My goal is to figure out John Deere's competitive advantage over their competitors, which I am focusing on: Toro, Husqvarna, and Craftsman.

What have been your experiences with John Deere riding mowers? What did you love about it? Anything you haven't seen in another brand before?

Thank you so much!

Comments (6)

• bill_kapaun
    10 years ago

I think they're all in the top 100 brands;)

• wheely_boy
    10 years ago

You forgot the Cub Cadets. They are handy when you need a lemon around.

• krnuttle
    10 years ago

As for John Deere, I think there are four things that lead to their popularity.

One: In my opinion they are a high quality tractor. There have been some who question the JD tractors sold in the big box stores, but I know they have the same JD warranted as those sold by the dealer. I have 14 year old JD LT-155, that has received regular service all of its life. It runs when I need it and has never (Knock Knock) needed major repairs.

Two: JD has the service centers to handle any problem with their tractors, from my lawn tractor to the biggest they make. The good thing about this is the a dealer sees a lawn tractor as profit so you get good deals when you do need repair or service. I just bought the spring service kit for the tractor from a JD dealer and it was cheaper that buying the same parts in a discount hardware or big box store. I don't know for sure about this, but I think there are more dedicate free standing JD service centers than any other brand