Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dak11_gw

Used Ferris Opinions

dak11
10 years ago

(Hopefully this is the correct forum)

I have an offer to purchase a 2010 IS500Z with only 86 hours for $3100. Seller says the mower was not used for commercial mowing (kind of obvious given the hours), runs great, and starts right up.
The only downside is that he says he removed the front of the mower deck to cut 1 foot tall corn to make a maze and that they had the front reattached professionally by a professional welder. They posted a pic of the welding job and based on that it obvious where they welded.

I'm not a mower expert, my current mower is a 10 year old craftman tractor, so I was looking for opinions on if this is a good deal and if there's anything else I should check on the machine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (8)

• rcbe
    10 years ago

a good pix of that deck cut and reweld area would be helpful...

• mownie
    10 years ago

Ditto on rcbe remark!

• dak11
    Original Author
    10 years ago

One of the concerns that someone brought up is that it sounds like they might have been trying to use this as a brush hog and what kind of wear and tear it might have done on the engine, spindles, and belts.

• always_beezee
    10 years ago

I blew the picture up a little bit more.

If that was "professionally welded" , I wouldn't want to employ that person. Look on the right side of the weld and you will see what we would call "chicken scratching".

On the upper right side of the picture, why is the paint a yellow color as if it had been worn off. It just doesn't look right. With 81 hours on it, it shouldn't have any paint gone.

If that deck is built like my Exmark Lazer Z, 3/16" thick if my memory is correct, it had to be abused to tear it apart.

Personally I would walk away from it. Spindles might be bent, frame could have fractures in it that haven't been discovered yet, nope I would find something else.