Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buckthorn_gw

John Deere 325 oil leak

buckthorn
15 years ago

I've got a ten-year-old 325 with about 600 hours on it. It's been pretty well maintained and runs well.... except that I just discovered that oil is oozing from a spot a few inches behind the oil filter (towards the driver, left side of the engine compartment. I'm not a mechanic, and don't know the name of this particular part. The oil is coming from just above a metal part that looks like it can be tightened with a wrench. I've done this, but it hasn't helped. Just above the leaky spot (at the top of this assembly) is where an electrical wire is attached. Can anyone tell from this description what the source of the leak is (a gasket?), and how difficult/expensive the repair might be?

Comments (10)

• mownie
    15 years ago

Well, so far your description would suffice only for another owner of a 10 year old JD 325. For the rest of us, it will help if you post the engine numbers from the engine per se, and the brand of engine. Once these engine numbers are available, it will be possible to look for a parts illustration online and from there, identify the leaking component and so forth.

• rcmoser
    15 years ago

I make a guess????? Sounds like the oil switch? If it a round looking thing with one wire connected could be the oil pressure switch. these can develop leaks do to the two halfs being assembled or the plastic part cracks (could be as simple as rethreading the threads with teflon tape?). It basic is a pipe threaded part meaning the treads are tapered. so the tighter you tighen it the more pressure it puts on the part being threaded into (too tight and it will crack or damage threads). Usually teflon tape are wrapped around the threads of this part to help revent oil leak.

• engine_tech
    15 years ago