Return to the Tractors Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Riding Lawn Mower Problem - Dies when PTO engaged

Posted by texican (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 28, 08 at 22:42

When I pull the switch to engage the PTO, the engine bogs down real quick and dies. It sounds almost like it has too much choke or something (but that's not it).

It is a John Deere L130. I got this mower used as a hand down. It has not been abused or anything, but we aren't sure why this is happening. Any ideas?

It moves (I can see the grass clippings come out for a milli-second) but then it bogs down and dies.

PS. This is my first riding mower. I am a total novice and what to check for.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Riding Lawn Mower Problem - Dies when PTO engaged

• Posted by jptgs1 Zone 5, Chicagoland (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 28, 08 at 22:48

I have a Deere STX 38 that is 14 years old. It does the same thing when it's cold. I have found letting it run a full throttle for a few minutes takes care of the problem for me. I haven't figured out the cause, just a cure for mine. Hope this helps.

o

Make sure your deck spindles etc. rotate freely.

Since that engine is a Kohler Command Twin, head gaskets are always suspect.
See if one cylinder is weak by alternately disconnecting one spark plug wire and seeing how the engine runs. Compare the 2 cylinders against each other.
I recommend grounding the disconnected plug wire.

o

Ground the plug wire ??? Won't that short out the ignition coil ? If it's a single coil and no distributor, the spark would be lost on both cylinders.

Not sure that would be so good for the ignition module, either.

Peace.

Marco

o

Bill has the module thing covered. 2 coils. Grounding the plug wire keeps gremlins from killing the cd in the coil. Be 100% sure on the deck. Roll the belt off the PTO if you want to test it that way.

o

Thanks for the info, Tom. I am now informed.

Sorry about that, Bill.

Peace.

Marco

o