Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iambobo

Wrong Spark Plug

iambobo
11 years ago

'73 Simplicity 3410S Landlord Model #990756 (10 HP)

In an effort to save a dollar, I recently installed a spark plug with a longer threaded stem than the one that was in there and boy, have I got problems. The engine is turning over, but won't start.

A friend told me to remove the head (something I've never done before), and evaluate the valves. I noticed a fair amount of debri from the smooshed spark plug head, so I cleaned that all out, and re-installed the head.

No luck.

It's cranking, but not starting. The friend also told me that you should be able to lift the valve (on this model, I'm pretty sure the longer stem plug was mashed into the intake valve) and inspect it for being bent, but the valve doesn't seem to slide up as he says it should, and I don't want to force it.

Next steps?

I am a newbie to this forum, and know just enough to be dangerous. I would appreciate any help offered. I'd ask my friend to come over (he does this work regularly), but it will be at least a month before he can get away.

Proceeding with caution...

Penny wise and pound foolish in Frederick, MD.

Comments (4)

• baymee
    11 years ago

Some friend? Too busy to come for a month??

I don't know if you have an air compressor, but I would place the piston at 1/4" down past TDC on the compression stroke and use an air gun with a rubber tip large enough to seal the spark plug hole. to apply 10 pounds of pressure. Make sure you use a socket and breaker bar to hold the flywheel nut, to prevent the flywheel from turning, because it will. If you hear the pressure coming out through the carb, you know the valve is bent.

If you don't feel confident to do this, don't do it. The air pressure can cause the flywheel to turn if you don't hold the breaker bar.

Experienced mechanics use alot more pressure than 10 pounds and they use a leak down tester.

• Greg Goyeneche
    11 years ago