Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jchung_gw

1st Riding Mower - Any recommendations?

jchung
12 years ago

I traded up to a house on a 1/2 acre lot two years ago. I've been getting by with a toro walk behind (self propelled) mower. But I'm starting to think that a Riding Mower would be a good idea. But, since I've never used one before, I don't know what to get.

Here are some details about the lawn:

1. Fairly flat.

2. Only 4 trees. Mostly at the edge of the lawn.

3. No fence except for one side of my neighbor's.

4. Left side of the house and the left rear side of the lawn is usually wetter than the rest as that is where the water flows down and away from the house.

This is what I'm thinking I would like in a tractor:

1. Good even cuts

2. Durable / Reliable (i.e. doesn't break easily. requires minimal maintenance)

3. Snowblower or snow blade attachment

4. Bagger or sweeper attachment

5. Under $2K.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!

Joo

Comments (14)

• twelvegauge
    12 years ago

One old guy's opinion: If you can forego the snowblower/snow blade requirement, you will be well-served by a Snapper rear-engine rider with the 32" or 30" cut. Simple, sturdy, reliable, been around in the same basic configuration for at least 30 years, takes up less space than many lawn tractors, easily serviced, parts readily available. It's even designed to stand up on its rear end to service the blade or for storage. Prices start well under $1500.

• nysff
    12 years ago