Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fcarp63

tractor won't start - bad starter?

fcarp63
13 years ago

Hi Everyone:

I have a Craftsman tractor #917-254750, ran fine when I last used it last year. Tried to start it last week for the first time, engine spun but wouldn't fire. Charged battery and kept trying to start but same problem. Figured this was either a fuel problem or an electrical problem.

I figured that maybe I had water in the gas since the tractor was stored outside over winter under a cover (even though fuel was treated with stabilizer). This morning I drained all fuel, drained carb and replaced fuel filter. Now, when I turn the key, nothing but a single "thunk" sound and the engine does not spin. The lights do work. Put the battery on the charger again for about an hour, same problem.

I'm thinking all that cranking last week damaged the starter? I'm not a mechanic, but I can turn a wrench. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (24)

• mownie
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Just how old is that battery? If more than two years old, it is probably good only as a "core" now. Do you have a way to try a boost start using jumper cables to a car? If so, boosting from a known good vehicle is one way of determining if your battery shot its last crank from the recent activity.
    Another thing you need to check carefully is for corrosion/rust at any of the connections on your battery cables. This means you check and clean the cable ends at the battery, both cable ends on the solenoid, the cable end on the starter, and the negative cable end where it attaches to the frame or engine. Storing a piece of machinery indoors may not be an option for some folks but storing outdoors can be very damaging. There is a good chance that mice may have eaten electrical insulation off of the ignition wiring (kill wire or spark plug wire or both) under the engine sheet metal shrouding.