Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryellen87

dead battery question

maryellen87
9 years ago

The battery on my year-old John Deere riding mower is dead. I left the mower in my garage over the winter, but didn't maintain the battery (didn't know I had to--I'm new to owning a riding lawnmower). I tried to start it the other day and nothing happened; the headlamp won't even come on. I've read conflicting stories about whether a dead battery can be recharged or not. Should I try a trickle charger (I'll have to buy one), or should I go ahead and invest in a new battery?

Comments (14)

• mownie
    9 years ago

Depends on how fast you want to get up and running.
    At this point in time there is no way to tell whether the battery will survive having sat dead for as long as it has. A discharged battery will self destruct the plate material if allowed to sit dead for more than a couple of months.
    Recharging a battery that has completely discharged requires that the battery be recharged rather slowly, and for a relatively long period.
    For your battery, a charge rate of about 3 amps is ideal and you should charge it at 3 amps for about 3 full days.
    Then, take the battery to an auto parts store and have it load tested, repeat LOAD TESTED, not just a simple voltage test.
    If you don't feel comfy with auto parts store personnel, take it to a bona fide battery dealer. But, a 3 day 3 amp charge should be followed by a load test if you want to be sure.
    Or, you can charge the battery for 3 days at 3 amps and then just try it and see if it starts.
    Or........go the fast route and just buy a new battery.
    That way you are 3 days ahead of finding out if anything else (like the fuel system) survived the over winter storage.
    If you buy a charger, get the kind that automatically cuts back on the charge rate as the battery gets near the fully charged point. That way you will not overcharge and boil the battery dry.
    Your choices, your call.

• bill_kapaun