Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
engillis

Replace connecting rod on Briggs 24 HP?

engillis
13 years ago

My engine: B&S 24 HP intek, 446677-0463-E1, 330+ hrs

My problem: broken connecting rod

The rod is not only broken, but there is lots of small metal pieces (almost ground). The camshaft is slight bent, and part of the cylinder(?) wall (inside which the rod sits) was broken by the rod.

I've never worked on a small engine before. Should I buy a repair manual and try to replace this rod? If I clean the inside of the engine well, will it matter that a piece of the wall is broken (small, maybe 1 inch sq.)? Will the repair manual's instructions be clear enough for a dummy like me to follow? Just can't afford a new engine right now!

Thanks, O wise community members, for your advice!

Eric G.

Comments (15)

• walt2002
    13 years ago

Could be the first thing you want to do is check availability of a rod for this engine. Believe it or not, on some models of this series of engine you had to buy both connecting rods AND crankshaft as a set, NOT just a connecting rod.

Your engine does not sound too promising anyway.

Walt Conner

• engillis
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the post. Yes, I can get the rod by itself (and the sump gasket and camshaft). All said and done, about $100 in parts. But will I just be throwing my money away?

• walt2002
    13 years ago

I can't tell from here. Very hard to imagine that damage and crankshaft not damaged?

Walt Conner

• canguy
    13 years ago

I'm with Walt on this one. The rod seized to the crank causing it to break. Why? Most likely due to lack of lubrication. The other one may be close to failing too, replacing one is a band aid at best. You need to check the crank to be sure it is still round and within wear tolerances.The damaged portion of the cylinder should be dressed with a rotary file to eliminate future stress cracks. If the cam is bent, the bearing surfaces are likely damaged.