Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike_d_gw

JD LT180 and 17hp Kawasaki

Mike.D
10 years ago

Hi, guys:

I'm Mike D., and I'm new to GardenWeb. Nice place y'all have here.

My folks have a JD LT180 with 185 hrs on it. It just started having a problem where after it warms up, it starts revving up and down for a few minutes, then dies.

After that, if I restart it, it only idles with the choke lever pulled, and then dies with any throttle applied.

I've never been a mechanic, but I'm pretty good at most technical stuff, so I want to give it a try. Any tips on what is most likely to cause this problem?

(I have the Kawasaki FH500V service manual downloaded.)

Thanks for any help...
- Mike

Comments (21)

• mownie
    10 years ago

Well, this one may be pretty nontechnical.
    This sounds like a clogged fuel tank cap vent hole, with a full tank of gas.
    The tank being full can make the problem appear more rapidly than if the tank was half full when you started the engine.
    Basically, if the tank cap vent hole is clogged, air can't enter te tank as fuel is depleted, so a partial vacuum develops in the tank and fuel can't leave the tank any longer.
    You can test this easily enough by simply removing the cap and see if the surging and dying stops.
    If running performance improves with that, clean out the vent holes on both inside and outside of cap by probing with a stiff wire (think paperclip unfolded).

• Mike.D
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for your quick reply, mownie! Good to know info.

Here is some of the recent history of our LT180:

A few weeks ago, while we were getting it ready to cut for the first time this season, we noticed that the seal was shot.on the gas cap. We also noticed that the fuel pump was starting to leak. So we decided to replace both of them. (But I will double-check the new gas cap tomorrow.)