Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
craigd_ga

Need help with JD L110 transmission

craigd_ga
15 years ago

I have a circa 5-year-old John Deere L110 (low-end, from big box store) with what I believe is a transmission problem. It won't move with the pedals at all. There is a lever on the back that engages/disengages the transmission - pull the lever out and the transmission disengages and you can push the mower forward and backward; push the lever in and the mower won't move when pushed. At least this is the way the lever is supposed to work. Right now, the mower will move when pushed -- even though the lever is pushed in.

I have traced the lever to its "business end" and it appears to be working fine mechanically to the point where it enters the gear box (?). It's like there is something inside the transmission that isn't "catching" or something.

I'm not a mechanic, but am happy to give self-repair a try. I am interested in any thoughts or repair suggestions you have, including where to find schematics, repair manuals, etc.

Thanks!

Comments (19)

• marineguy
    15 years ago

Did you hear a pop while mowing, follwed by a lack of motion? Or did it just not work one day when you went to start mowing?

• craigd_ga
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks. It just did not work one day. I had pulled (driven) it into the garage the last time I used it. Next time I manually pushed it backwards out of the garage, as usual, cranked it, and tried to move forward with the pedal it didn't move. I first checked the pedal mechanisms but the all seemed in order. I then noticed that the mower would move (i.e. could be pushed) even with the lever (mentioned above) pushed in.

• rcbe
    15 years ago

Anybody had the rear tires/rims off the axle ? .. and then didn't put the axle shaft key(s) back in, letting rims spin on axle?

• craigd_ga
    Original Author
    15 years ago