Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vinnie_s

Briggs ELS - 25 hp engine leaks oil

vinnie_s
12 years ago

I have posted pics of the location where it appears to be leaking, circled in red. Looks like the main (head?) gasket. I am not a mechanic, but am good a disassembling.

If I have a shop do it, what am I looking at for cost?

This engine has been flawless, and is running great. I even retrofitted that crappy yellow-clip air filter cover with the more reliable 4-screw cover.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd78/yankees_1996/IMG_16601.jpg

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd78/yankees_1996/IMG_16621.jpg

Comments (21)

• mownie
    12 years ago

Well, the first photo shows nothing except a puddle of oil.
    The second photo, where you have circled, looks more like a leaking sump gasket from here.
    The head gasket is located just to the right of the exhaust pipe Allen head bolt (the bolt on the right in the pic), so I doubt it is a leaking head gasket.
    Engine needs to come out of the chassis for replacement of the sump gasket, but you might try tightening the sump mounting bolts before you go to that procedure. You might get lucky and not have to replace the sump gasket, unless you have let this leakage go on for a while.

• vinnie_s
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Galaxieman,

Please send me a scan of the sump gasket page. Thanks so much. I have an analog torque wrench. I figured that is what it was, but in the manual, it is listed as crankcase basket. I will need to cut the grass today, so I can get away with with it for a week. I am also on vacation next week, so I have time.

I was one of the lucky ones with regards to this air filter cover problem. I found a forum where a guy did a retrofit. So I called Briggs and asked for a list of part numbers and cost. They were so stunned that I wanted to retrofit it to avoid the problem, that they sent me the parts for free! About $100 worth. And I already had credit card in hand!