Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leered_gw

Murray 405002x8 B&S 28V707

leered
12 years ago

I inherited a Murray Select (model 405002X8) 12.5hp 40 in cut, motor B&S 28V707 TYPE 1113-E1 code 02050970. The mowers seemed to be in OK condition. Installed new battery and new fuel line. However, the motor won't turn: when I turn the key I get a metal noise like something is blocking it, preventing it from spining.If I spin the flywheel counterclockwise first , by hand, then the flywheel will turn half turn then ... "KLUNKS" again. How bad can this be? I need some pointers as I am ready to take it apart. :-)While I do have some experience with fixing cars, I have no experience with small engines. Not to mention that I couldn't even find a owner's manual online! I don't even know if I need to push down the clutch down while starting the mower ( but I noticed that's the only way the ignition key would do anything).

Any pointers would be appreciated!

Comments (10)

• mownie
    12 years ago

***"Not to mention that I couldn't even find a owner's manual online!"***
    Surely you jest.
    Click the link below. When the Briggs site opens, go about 1/2 way down the page and find the large magnifying glass. To the right of that is a line requesting you to "Enter engine model number".
    Type in the model number like this: 28V707-1113-E1 and then click the small black & white magnifying glass icon to the right end of the line. Next you will be presented with a list of choices for manuals. Choose the first 2 (IPL, and owners manual). You may have to do each manual selection as a separate operation.
    When the manual downloads, save a copy to your computer and then do the same for the second one.
    You can e-mail me for a copy of a service manual that will cover a bunch of Briggs engines, including yours.