Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrisgendron_gw

Moving up to a Garden Mower

chrisgendron
12 years ago

I would like to get the opinions of the panel on what garden tractor would be best for my needs. I have 30 acres, mostly wooded and mountainous, that includes about 3 acres of grass to be mowed around my house. I have been using a lawn tractor (Cub Cadet LT1050) for the last six years, and have spent an equal amount of time repairing it/jerry-rigging it as I have actually mowing the grass. Last month it caught fire and was destroyed, and now I am in need of a machine that can withstand the rigors that my property presents. In addition to mowing, I require a beefy motor so that I can haul the many trees that I cut down as I seek to expand the usable portions of my yard (which will also add to what needs to be cut). I am looking at the following garden tractors:

Craftsman GT 5000 & GT 6000

John Deere GT 245

Simplicity Conquest

Should I be looking at additional tractors, or should I find the best price I can on the ones listed above?

Comments (6)

• User
    12 years ago

Forget the Sears and the JD GT245...

Simplicity Conquest or above

John Deere X5xx or X7xx class

Smart move would be to look for a clean used sub-cut tractor like a Kubota BX.

• chrisgendron
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the info! The tractors that I listed above are the only used garden tractors that I found within my price range (up to $3000) on eBay. I would love to be able to get a Kubota, but the price is beyond reach for me; the LD X5s 7 X7s seem to be just beyond me too. I have visited a few local dealerships to look at their used gear too, but their prices were darn close to what you might pay for new...
    The catch-22 is that I am paying someone else to mow while I am without, so that makes saving a little bit harder. I was hoping that there was a 'magic bullet' that I hadn't found yet that would address my needs!
    Thanks again!

• User
    12 years ago