Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sjohnson4382

Zero turn advice???

sjohnson4382
10 years ago

I am new to the zero turn market. I have borrowed a Gravely 260Z and an exmark laser-z series to cut our yard. We are cutting a yard that is about 2.5 acres with about an acre being centipede and the rest bahia. I have obviously loved cutting with the borrowed mowers, however I believe both are a little out of our price range.
Could someone give me some advice on their recommendations on what we should look at. Wanting to stay under 5K and would really like to stay just under 4K. The dealers we have that are within 60 miles or so sell Gravely, Ferris, Hustler, Dixie Chopper, Walker, Scag. Obviously, I'd look at other brands too, but I know that all of you seem to definitely recommend getting something where there is a dealer close.

Any recs and tips are extremely appreciated. Also, is there is significant mark down on mowers at the end of growing season (maybe Sept or Oct) where you can snag a really really good deal? Or do those prices stay relatively even throughout the year?

Comments (5)

• larso1
    10 years ago

In my opinion, most all the mfrs. you list have comparable residential grade models with the integrated pump/motor units at each rear wheel. Kind of a Ford vs Chevy vs Chrysler comparison. I think Walker only mfrs. commercial grade units and their starting prices are way up there. Probably best to visit each dealer (if you have the time) and see what fits you best, including price. The only mfr. of ztr's I am familiar with is John Deere since I own one (EZTrak 425) but you don't have that listed.

• sjohnson4382
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Larso1- thanks. What is your opinion on the EZTrak 425? I just hear so many people say stay away from the green machines, but I'm always open to look at them because years ago they made really good equipment and we had their regular lawn tractors growing up with very little problems

• larso1
    10 years ago