Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikehas36

JD lx 176 PTO clutch

mikehas36
12 years ago

I was mowing and felt a vibration coming from the front of the mower. I quickly came to a stop and the deck quit mowing at the same time. So I got off the mower and looked under the front end to find the PTO clutch lying on the ground, with one wire pulled out and the other still attached.

Putting it up on ramps in the garage, I found the drive pulley still on the shaft but it came off as I moved the belt. Looking at both parts, I only see a key that had broken. I dont see how the assembly is attached as I didnt notice or find any bolts or nuts around.

So i guess my questions are:

1. What happened to cause this (did the key break or something come unbolted)?

2. How are these assembled?

3. I can see where the wires seem to go (a fitting coming down from the mower switch).

Sorry for such lame questions but I while I am Ok with some aspects of equipment like this, I have NO experience with this system.

Comments (10)

• mikehas36
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Upon looking closer, it appears that it is bolted up to through the clutch assembly to the shaft...is this correct? If so all I may need is the correct bolt, does anyone know the size? I am nearly an hour away from the nearest JD dealer and it would be easier to hit my local hardware store if this is at all possible.

• tomplum
    12 years ago