Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bthughes

Seized Briggs and Stratton

bthughes
13 years ago

Hello. I am new to Garden Web, new to small engines. I have a Briggs and Stratton aluminum block L-head engine, Model #191707, which came with no oil in the crankcase. It is tightly seized. I would prefer to re-use this engine since it is the original one for the tractor, an Allis Chalmers 808 GT, 1977 manufacture. Is the engine a total loss, or could it be somewhere between marginal and fixable? What will I find when I dis-assemble it, and should I proceed carefully until the condition of the inside is determined? Another question, related to all engines: I have seen it said that if the valves are both open an equal amount at TDC of the exhaust stroke, then the crankshaft and camshaft are properly timed. If true, then proper timing can be confirmed without opening the engine to look at the timing marks.

Comments (17)

• baymee
    13 years ago

It's possible that the rings are rusted to the cylinder walls and can be replaced. It's also possible that the connecting rod is seized and can be replaced. Look for those two areas.

• rustyj14
    13 years ago

If the engine was running, and suddenly stopped, did it make a loud BANG, or did it just sort of slow down and then refuse to turn, using a wrench or large pliers?
    If either of those questions apply to your engine, i'd say you might just as well go buy a new short block, and transfer the parts from the blown engine to the new one, such as carburetor, flywheel, cylinder head and ignition parts.
    And, don't forget new oil before you start it, if you get that far. From your questions, might i advise you to seek professional help! With these modern engines, they do not take kindly to some inexperienced person messing with their innards, or outer parts, either! Spend a little-save a lot!

• bthughes
    Original Author
    13 years ago