Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rob_fleming6164357

Do's and Don'ts for end of year Rider Mower Storage

Rob F.
10 years ago

Hi: I have a JD EZ Track 425. I bought it used and have used it a few times but it looks like I am done with it for the season here in Atlanta. Does anyone care to share some basics for storing it for the winter. I will keep it in my garage. Do I run it til the gas is empty or ?? Sorry, I know its a basic question but I have very little experience with this stuff. TIA for any advice.

Comments (8)

• tomplum
    10 years ago

Personally I like treating the fuel w/ a stabilzer like Startron, then run it so it gets down inside the carb where it is needed. Clean it up like blowing the grass off, and out of the cooling system plus scrape out the deck. Maybe consider when you will have your maintenance done. When you are satisfied that it is ready for storage you could remove the negative cable on the battery because of the extended storage or make a point of running it up until warm every 3-4 weeks.

• wheely_boy
    10 years ago

When I had 2 mowers, I would garage the tractor used for summer mowing and run it at full throttle for about 10 minutes every few weeks over the winter months. I never had any fuel or battery issues for over 8 years. I would do the oil and lube maintenance every spring.
    I now use the same machine year round.

• bill_kapaun
    10 years ago

I'm from the school of using stabilized fuel.
    Make sure you run it long enough so that it has reached the carb and has been drawn through all the passages. (I start using stabilized fuel 1-2 mowings BEFORE my expected "last mowing" of the season, since I'm never quite sure which one it will be)
    I also fill the tank to the very brim.
    This reduces the dead air space to nil.
    As the temperature fluctuates from day to night, there is less air in the tank to expand/contract, "pulling in" fresh, moisture laden air.