Return to the Tractors Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Generator head on a garden tractor???

Posted by subarusteve (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 6, 09 at 2:53

I'm a newbie! I have found a few garden tractors in my area that are rather inexpensive. I have a 5500 watt generator head that I would like to hook up to the garden tractor. Since this is a smaller tractor it doesn't have a PTO so I would need to run it off belts like maybe off of the cutting deck? Has anyone ever done it? If so how did you hook it up? The instructions for my generator head say to use a 9hp (recommended) to 11hp (Maximum) size engine. I'm wondering if I can go with a 12hp engine if I make the pulley work into the math equation? The generator head will probably end up with a bigger pulley than the motor to "depower" the bigger 12hp motor to my 9hp to 11hp required size. If I'm sure with my pulley RPM for the generator head is 3540-3720 (per instructions) isn't that all I need to worry about? I can't think of any other way that the 12hp could be bad.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Generator head on a garden tractor???

• Posted by canguy British Columbia (My Page) on
    Sun, Dec 6, 09 at 12:52

Don't worry about over powering the generator but you do need enough to maintain 3600 rpm under full load. Just don't over speed it. Belt drive will work but there may be slippage issues.

o

That's right. More power isn't an issue. RPM of the generator head is important. You could run the engine slightly slower since you have more power than necessary. To do that you would need to have the appropriate pulley sizes for the desired rpm. An optical tachometer would help you get the generator at exactly the right rpm.

o

Just to clarify, the driving belt pulley IS your PTO. At the very least you will want to take the mower deck belt of the pulley, or you could remove the entire mower deck.