Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bengz6westmd

Steam-train excursion

bengz6westmd
10 years ago

A bit OT, but took a steam-train excursion from Cumberland MD to Frostburg (& back) during the Thanksgiving holidays. Here I am at Frostburg -- appropriately w/some snow on the ground. This is the #734 Baldwin 2-8-0-- designed for steep grades instead of speed.

The mountain forests along the route were interesting. Black cherries make up a surprising amount of the forests.

Comments (18)

• wisconsitom
    10 years ago

Looks grand! I'm a railroad guy too. I'll bet the ride was great.

+oM

• mikebotann
    10 years ago

I'll bet that was a fun ride!
    I'm a RR guy too and am old enough to remember steam locomotives on the mainline of the Great Northern RR in the late 40s. We lived two blocks from the mainline on Puget Sound north of Seattle.
    I was a RR Depot Agent on the extra board for the Union Pacific in the mid 60s. My territory was eastern Washington State, northern Idaho, and northern Oregon along the Columbia River.
    If I had the time and money, I'd have a garden railroad. It would be fun using dwarf conifers and rock outcroppings for scenery.
    Mike

• bengz6westmd
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Guys, the ride was as smooth as glass, tho we never exceeded 25 mph going uphill. There were bridges and even a mountain tunnel to go thru. In the summer you can store bikes in one of the passenger cars up to Frostburg, then follow the train downhill along the adjacent bike trail back to Cumberland. I think the steepest grade is almost 3 degrees. You get to see the land/mountains from a perspective you never get on the highways.

The old coal-burning Baldwin #734 is a bit over 2000 hp, but w/massive wheel-torque. It was built ~1920.

• wisconsitom
    10 years ago